Skip to main content

Lookin' Through The Windows

Michael Jackson's very first cracks of puberty are featured on Lookin Through The Windows

 For the last couple of weeks, we've been reviewing Jackson 5 records. So far we've covered, Big Boy, Diana Ross Presents The Jackson 5, ABC, Third Album, and Maybe Tomorrow. So today, I'd like to introduce you to the next album per say.


 Hesitant to broadcast Michael's transcending vocals, Motown grabs quite a few archived tracks to fill in the gaps. Most notably "Don't Let Your Baby Catch You" and the preppy "Children of The Light". The title track is very reminicent to the theme from "Shaft"-A 1972 film.

 Famous Motown covers like Bobby Day's "Little Bitty Pretty One, Jackson Brown's "Doctor My Eyes", and the Marvin Gaye Tammie Terrel duo "Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing" were refreshingly covered quite nicely on this LP. Most other tracks have a few cute catchy riffs. But fall short in comparison to their past 6 albums.

 Although there were a few awesome tracks on there, "Lookin' Through The Windows" is a bit disappointing. Though not a flop by any means.

1. Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing

2. Lookin' Through The Windows

3. Don't Let Your Baby Catch You

4. To Know

5. Doctor My Eyes

6. Little Bitty Pretty One

7. E-Ne-Me-Ne-Mi-Ni-Moe (The Choice is Yours to Pull)

8. If I Have to Move a Mountain

9. Don't Want To See Tomorrow

10. Children of the Light

11. I Can Only Give You Love


 I hope you enjoyed our little discourse on "The Windows", care to join me for Skywriter?

Popular posts from this blog

Little Susie

Some believe this to be based on a true story. However, it's been more or less confirmed as a fictional tale. Partly Inspired by Gottfried Helnwein's artwork. Who is famous for his emotional imagery-Especially of children(in fact, Michael used his Lichtkind(Child of Light) painting to depict this song on The History Vol. 1 Booklet).

 In this tragic tale, Little Susie took her own life because of gross indifference to her well-being. One by one, her folks passed away. Father abandoned them, leaving mother and gram-father to wither in the grave.

 Years later, she was grafted into an unloving family. Though she was adopted, they did not take her in. Loneliness seeped it's cold dead fingers upon her tender heart. Until she couldn't bear it much longer. Although it was technically an accident. She subconsciously threw herself down the stairs to escape the pain.

 Although the story is clearly fictitious, Michael was proving a point. "Neglect can kill. Like a knife …

Jackson Family Tree

Let's get a closer glimpse on the roots of Michael Jackson. Who's family tree has come along way from the cotton fields of the south(never mind 2300 Jackson Street).

First GenerationMothers SideGrandfather1. Prince Albert Screws was Kathrine's father(sir-named after his old-man and Grandpa). Prince(a.k.a Blanket) was named after him.

2. His mothers name was Julia and his grandmothers name was Mary(Michael's Great-Great-Grandmother).

3. The families last name was changed to Scruse(previous name unknown) after leaving Alabama.

4. Prince Elbert was a World War 1 Veteran.

Grandmother1. Martha(a.k.a. Matti) Upshaw(later changed to Martha Bridgett

2. Bore Michael's mother Katherine. On May 4th, 1930.

3. Matti's mom is believed to be Josephine. In which Emjay received his middle name Joseph.

Fathers SideGrandfather1. Samuel Jackson(not the famous actor).

2. Born and reared as a farmer. Among an old sleepy town of Fountain Hill, Arkansas. In Ashley …

Invincible Session Outtakes

Here is an exhaustive list of all Invincible tracks that Either was sent to production hell or never quite made the list. According to Rodney Jerkins, there are a heck of a lot of finished outtakes from this session. Enough to fill multiple albums! So I lied. This is by no means an exhaustive list.:)

Fall Again Demo-I knew something spectacular was missing from his latest album! I Just couldn't quite lay my finger on it. I'm glad Michael took time away to be with his sick son. But this track fits in this session like a jigsaw piece. This beautiful Romantic Ballad was co-produced by Walter Afanasieff and Michael Jackson.

Beautiful Girl Demo-I can just see this on a soundtrack for a Romantic movie. Claiming top chart positions worldwide. But for unknown reasons, it was cut at the last moment.

 Michael Jackson and Tito both collaborated on an instrumental take which was also shelved.

The Way You Love Me-Sounds very much like something McCartney would do. With the elegant piano a…